An email from the Dominican Republic

Here’s an email I’d like to pass along, from Erica Monteith, sister of my office mate Ian.

We spend a lot of time worrying about business issues that seem overwhelming. Once in a while reality intrudes with a gentle tap on the shoulder. To better appreciate your circumstances and blessings, read this:

Hello Friends and Family

As you all know I am finally finishing up my long two years of service down here in the Dominican Republic.  I have been here since Sept. 13, 2007, doing projects such as an accounting class, starting a small business, and numerous classes and groups for the youth in my area to name a few; my official end date is Nov. 20, 2009, but I have decided to extend my service for three additional months to  wrap up what I consider one of my most important project.  There are many things that we all take for granted and certainly things I have come to appreciate with respect to basic human needs. While lacking many things we might all consider ‘basic’ numerous families in my town have no bathroom, not just no bathroom in the house but no bathroom period.

The project that I propose is to build 20 latrines (out-houses) which would provide more than 100 people a safe, sanitary and environmentally responsible place to take care of  business. I have spent a great deal of time planning and organizing this complex and much needed project and all I am waiting for is some financial help. As you all know I’m pretty stubborn and don’t normally ask for help (even when I need it), and I am even  more apprehensive about asking for money; but this is a project I believe in and I do desperately need your help. To finish this project I need to raise about $4,000 and I’m asking for any amount of help you would be willing to give. Not only would you be helping me and the people in my village, but you can also write it off on your taxes! If you would like to donate you can do so at this website (as well as check my progress):

http://www.peacecorps.gov/ ; click the “Donate Now” link on the left, then enter “Monteith” under “Invest In Your World.”

I would really appreciate any help you can give and would be forever in your debt. If you can help I would love to send you pictures of the finished product and the families.  Thank you so very much for your help!

Erica

If you have any questions you can call my wonderful mother Gina (703)-969-0262 or me down here in the DR at 001+809-723-9813 (you will need a calling card but I will be happy to answer any questions you might have)

I will send pictures this week
Thank you!

About Barrett Rossie @barrettrossie

Marketing manager that specializes in developing strategic messages that set brands apart, and bring their competitive position, benefits and brand personality to life. Visit me at http://barrettrossie.com View all posts by Barrett Rossie @barrettrossie

Leave a Reply

